AAHOA Announces 2023 Award Winners at AAHOACON23


LOS ANGELES, Ca., Apr. 18On the final day of the 2023 AAHOA Convention & Trade Show, the association recognized achievement and excellence in the hospitality industry with its annual awards.

Each year, AAHOA honors hoteliers who go above and beyond in service to the hospitality industry. Winners are chosen by an independent awards selection committee, and recipients are acknowledged and celebrated on stage during the AAHOA Convention & Trade Show.

The annual AAHOA Awards Program recognizes the best of the best, and AAHOA is honored to highlight this year’s award winners’ service and commitment to excellence. Their hard work and dedication does not go unnoticed, and it is through their leadership, grit, and determination that our industry – and association – continues to thrive.

The 2023 winners received their awards, and were celebrated on the main stage during the general session on Friday:

AAHOA Award of Excellence
This award recognizes a hotelier who has demonstrated strong leadership, has high standards of excellence, and is making a significant contribution to the lodging Industry. This year there were two winners:
Mahesh Ratanji, CEO, Ratan Management Group LLC, AAHOA Lifetime Member, Northeast Region
Jayesh Patel, CEO, Athena Hospitality Group, AAHOA Member

Cecil B. Day Community Service Award
Named in honor of Cecil B. Day, the founder of Days Inn known for his commitment to community service, this award recognizes someone who has demonstrated a strong commitment to serving his or her community.
Chandrakant “Chan” Patel, CEO, State Bank of Texas, AAHOA Lifetime Member, Dallas, TX

Outreach Award for Philanthropy
This award is given to an individual deeply involved with helping humanity through  philanthropic and charitable activities, domestically or overseas.
Harold Daniels, General Manager, EAS Graceland LLC, AAHOA Member, Memphis, TN

Outstanding Woman Hotelier of the Year Award
This award recognizes a woman hotelier for strong leadership and a commitment to lodging excellence, and for her significant contributions to the industry and to her community.
Nimisha Patel, Partner, Vue Hotels, AAHOA Lifetime Member, San Antonio, TX

Outstanding Young Professional Hotelier of the Year Award
This award is for young hoteliers under the age of 30 who have exemplified the spirit, dedication, and achievement of a professional hotelier.
Rickesh (Ricky) Patel, Vice President, Premier Hotels KC, AAHOA Ambassador and Committee Member (Education & Professional Development), Central Midwest Region


Political Forum Award For Advocacy
This award is given to an individual who is extensively involved with helping advance AAHOA’s mission and the interests of its members by participating in the legislative process through political involvement and government affairs.
Danny Gaekwad, CEO, Danny Gaekwad Developments & Investments, AAHOA Government Affairs Committee Chairman

IAHA Independent Hotel of the Year Award
This award honors an independent hotel that sets a high standard of excellence in quality, service, and guest satisfaction. This award honors a specific hotel rather than an independent hotelier in general.
The Metric Hotel, Jagubhai Patel, Co-Founder, AAHOA Lifetime Member, Greater Los Angeles Area Region

“Congratulations and thank you to all the award recipients for your commitment and dedication to ensure our membership, association, and the hospitality industry continue to thrive,” said incoming AAHOA Chairman Bharat Patel. “Without you, none of this would be possible. Your contributions today are helping create generational success for years to come.”

“This year’s AAHOA award recipients worked hard each and every day to achieve these accomplishments,” said AAHOA President & CEO Laura Lee Blake. “I cannot think of anyone who deserves these awards more than these individuals. Congratulations to every award recipient on a job well done.”


Comments are closed.